Tags

, , , , ,

On my way to Meijer grocery earlier this afternoon, I happened upon a big oak tree (it’s either a Red oak (Quercus rubra) or a Black oak (Quercus velutina) but I didn’t make a positive identification) that had been recently struck by lightning. This is a huge strike, the biggest I’ve ever seen on a tree.  I’d say the strike area is eight or ten inches across.

Lightning struck oak tree

The impact started at the crown and spiraled all the way down the tree to the base of the trunk. There is usually a groove or channel in the middle of the peeled bark; this strike has three parallel channels, which I have never observed before either.

Strike channel on trunk

I gathered some shards of lightning-blasted wood and bark from the ground to keep for purposes of witchcraft. When storing lightning struck wood, I don’t let it touch metal, lest the ‘charge’ go out of it.

Gathered lighning-blasted wood

I haven’t stumbled upon an oak strike for several years, so it was a well appreciated gift. May the tree not be damaged by the blast to the point of death, and may it continue to thrive.

Some uses to which I would put lightning struck wood include offerings to deities or spirits associated with storms, weather, lightning, oak trees, or might; as well as in workings dealing with manifesting might, weather magic, or protection (especially from storms).

